cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to download and debug the stm32h750dk online application(out of box source code) with QSPI flash on IAR?

alivexiaoluo
Associate III

Hi,I am a new developer of stm32h750dk and not familiar with IAR.

IDE:IAR 8.42.2

Tools:ST-link V3 on stm32h750dk board.

I generate stm32h750dk online application on touchGFX designer 4.12.3.

​I know the flash on chip is designed for bootloader, and the code stored in QSPI Flash.

I know how to download the online application hex file to stm32h750dk on stm32Cube Programmer.

I do not know how to download and debug the source code to the QSPI Flash via IAR.

I want to know if any instructions for download and debug the source code in QSPI Flash via IAR.

The settings of the IAR below.

0690X00000DXG5AQAX.png

0690X00000DXG5KQAX.png

0690X00000DXG5PQAX.png

0690X00000DXG5jQAH.png

0690X00000DXG6NQAX.png

It compiles ok, but download failed, it show me that.

0690X00000DXG6cQAH.png

Thanks for your attention.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Alexandre RENOUX
Principal

Hi,

The way to debug using IAR is to build your project on IAR, then using STM32CubeProgrammer download the generated .hex into your board making sure you selected the right external loader.

When the download is successful, disconnect your board from STM32CubeProgrammer and try to run debug mode on IAR.

IAR usually can only download code and data into the internal memories (from what I experienced). Therefore, if you use external Flash for example and you have assets that are supposed to be stored in an address space linked to the external flash accessed via QuadSPI, IAR will not be able to download these assets into the board. That is why we use STM32CubeProgrammer because this software can program both internal and external memories.

Hope it will help somehow,

/Alexandre

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10