cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible to use any I/O PIN for GPIO? (re: STM32, etc)

JKlim.1
Associate

I'm new to micro controllers (but I have a software engineering background) and I decided to purchase a NUCLEO-F429ZI (STM32F429ZI).

There are a LOT of pins on this board (168 I/O pins according to the datasheet!). However, if I just want simple HIGH/LOW GPIO, can I use any of the pins? (except the 3V3, 5V, etc pins of course)

It's a bit confusing because each pin seems to have many different functions/configurations.

For example, PB0 has the following 'alternate' functions:

TIM1_CH2N, TIM3_CH3, TIM8_CH2N, LCD_R3, OTG_HS_ULPI_D1, ETH_MII_RXD2, EVENTOUT

...and the following 'additional' function:

ADC12_ IN8

It also labeled as 'FT' (5V tolerant) which is fantastic.

8 REPLIES 8
S.Ma
Principal

Most of GPIO are user accessible. Check the board schematics for which pin is available.

The alternate functions are for pins which can become more than simple GPIO.

Some pins have analog function (ADC/DAC) and these pins are 3.3V limited (non FT)

Take the pins going to the Arduino connector, and you can freely decide for each pin to be digital input, analog input or digital output.

Arduino connector has 1 SPI and 1 UART.

Through the onboard STLink, you can debug and also have a free UART to USB converter which you can use with say Teraterm utility on the laptop side for opening a serial virtual com port channel to communicate with the STM32 as user level.

The pins can be used as GPIO, but can also be controlled by a peripheral, there are up to 16 alternate functions selectable for a pin.

Even when controlled by a peripheral the input value (state of pin) can be read via GPIO->IDR

Some pins are committed to specific board level functions, pull the User Manual and read through it, and review the schematic.

Pins like PC13, PC14, PC15 are in a low power domain, so have limited current drive.