cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stm32h7 dtcm ram overflowed

VYoun
Associate III

Hello,

I am relatively new in this field, and need assistance for my project at work.

Recently, in order to have more RAM, I switched from STM32F4 to STM32H7.

I saw that STM32H7 has 1MB of RAM, and decided to base our system on this MCU.

However, after compiling my code, I see that only DTCM RAM is used by the MCU and others are not used.

The DTCM RAM is now full and I can not move any further with my code.

How can I make use of RAM_D1 or RAM_D2 for my variables?

I am using CubeMX and Atollic Truestudio.

Please kindly help me as this is vital for my work. Any help is greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
alister
Lead

Despite its name, this link describes your situation: https://community.st.com/s/article/FAQ-DMA-is-not-working-on-STM32H7-devices.

Find your linker script (file with .ld extension). If there's more than one or you're not sure, open Tool Settings and navigate to the "General" leaf of "C Linker". The path of the linker script there is relative your build directory.

Read https://sourceware.org/binutils/docs/ld/Scripts.html#Scripts to learn its syntax.

Blocks and sizes of memory vary. Read RM0433 to learn how memory's arranged for your part and populate your MEMORY regions accordingly. As example, these are the blocks from my STM32H7 project's linker script:

MEMORY
{
  ITCMRAM (xrw)                   : ORIGIN = 0x00000000, LENGTH = 64K
  DTCMRAM (rw)                    : ORIGIN = 0x20000000, LENGTH = 128K
  AXI_SRAM_D1 (xrw)               : ORIGIN = 0x24000000, LENGTH = 512K
  SRAM1_D2 (xrw)                  : ORIGIN = 0x30000000, LENGTH = 128K
  SRAM2_D2 (xrw)                  : ORIGIN = 0x30020000, LENGTH = 128K
  SRAM3_D2 (xrw)                  : ORIGIN = 0x30040000, LENGTH = 32K
  SRAM4_D3 (xrw)                  : ORIGIN = 0x38000000, LENGTH = 64K