cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odd behavior in assembly busy wait cycle

PB1
Associate III

I am preparing the labs for the undergraduate embedded systems course at the university where I work (the University of Milano-Bicocca in Italy). This year we will change the hardware and we will start using the STM32 Nucleo F767ZI boards. I am a total beginner, so please bear me. I am preparing the usual "blinky" example, so I started STM32CubeIDE, I created a fresh project, did not touch the default pinout configuration, and proudly wrote my first code for a Nucleo board ever:

/* main.c: */
int main(void)
{
    while (1)
    {
        HAL_GPIO_WritePin(GPIOB, GPIO_PIN_0 | GPIO_PIN_7 | GPIO_PIN_14, GPIO_PIN_SET);
        PAUSE_CIRCA_ONE_SECOND;
        HAL_GPIO_WritePin(GPIOB, GPIO_PIN_0 | GPIO_PIN_7 | GPIO_PIN_14, GPIO_PIN_RESET);
        PAUSE_CIRCA_ONE_SECOND;
    }
}

To spice the things up a bit I wrote the pause code in ARM inline assembly:

#define PAUSE_CIRCA_ONE_SECOND \
	asm volatile("mov r0, #0x4400000\n" \
				 "sub r0, r0, #1\n" \
				 "cmp r0, #0\n" \
				 "bne .-6" : : : "cc", "r0");

where I considered the 216MHz clock and I guessed that the CPU would execute approximately one instruction per clock cycle - hence 0x4400000. It turns out that the resulting behavior is almost as I would expect: the leds stay on for about one second, and this is great, but they stay off much longer, that is, for about 12 seconds. The interesting thing is that if I unroll the loop once:

while (1)
{
    PAUSE_CIRCA_ONE_SECOND;
    HAL_GPIO_WritePin(GPIOB, GPIO_PIN_0 | GPIO_PIN_7 | GPIO_PIN_14, GPIO_PIN_RESET);
    PAUSE_CIRCA_ONE_SECOND;
    PAUSE_CIRCA_ONE_SECOND;
    PAUSE_CIRCA_ONE_SECOND;
}