cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debugger stuck on random line

The debugger is getting stuck on a random line about 350 lines into main(). There is nothing particular about this line of source code except its location, because if I comment out that line it just stops on the next one, and if I add a line it stops earlier. When the debugger is not active, the source runs just fine without stopping in that area. I have deleted all breakpoints and watchpoints. I have set the optimizations to "off". When the debugger is stuck on that line, its status is "running."

This is my first time debugging this project after converting from TrueStudio. I may need to switch back if I can't find anything else to try.

Any suggestions?

20 REPLIES 20
Markus GIRDLAND
ST Employee

I would double check that you're debugging what you think you're debugging by mass erasing the target and flashing the code again.

If it doesn't help then if you could enable GDB traces it might help you diagnose the issue.

It's enabled through Windows -> Preferences -> C/C++ -> Debug -> GDB -> Enable GDB traces with character limit:

Good suggestion, I have tried debugging the wrong target before. However in this case that wasn't the problem.

I have had a similar problem starting a couple of weeks ago that seemed to be source-dependent (https://forum.atollic.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1966&p=4738#p4738), so I tried reverted to a slightly earlier build, and for now it is debugging fine with STMCubeIDE.

My previous problem was that when running the debugger, it would get stuck on a line in the load process, or would get stuck on the first main breakpoint. Nothing worked except making small, unrelated changes to the source. I suspect that whatever this problem is, it is still lurking. I'll update if it comes back. Thanks for your help.

You did not tell us which mcu.