cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to debug Touchgfx for custom Boards?

Harwinder Singh
Associate II

Hello everyone ,

I am new to touchgfx. I have a custom board with STM32f769II controller ,SDRAM with 16bit data bus from Micron,QSPI flash and with 7inch TFT display (RGB888). I firstly try to configure only LTDC to display a image on LCD from flash i got success so means i am able to configure LTDC rightly. Then i try to iniatlize SDARM i just give LTDC frame start address as 0xc0000000(sdram starting address) and copy the image data from flash to SDRAM. It works fine for me. Means LTDC and SDRAM are intilized ok. So then i moved toward TouchGFX . I create a project using stmcubeIDE initialize touchgfx and generate code but its not working for me. I also have 32f746Disco board in same way i initialize the board using CUBE IDE but it works fine. Then i try to Compare both codes(Because both have stm32f7,same SDRAM & Same QSPI) but could not found any diff. But on custom board its not working. So please let me know how to debug where is my mistake?

Is there is any way suppose we set layer setting to 10x10 pixel in LTDC and same in touchgfx then draw a box with red colour only ,& In debug we can see SDRAM contents or frame buffer contents that LTDC is going to put on display?

6 REPLIES 6
Martin KJELDSEN
Chief III

Just to get things straight. You've written code to setup sdram and LTDC, you then created a new project in cubeide and copied your board bringup code to this new project, right?

You can reconfigure the LTDC to something like 10x10 and use that with touchgfx (you'll get a 10x10 canvas in the designer). That's actually something like we're doing here. Do board bringup, add TouchGFX, Render something with TouchGFX, check the framebuffer, check display (sometimes colors are not right).

Harwinder Singh
Associate II

Hi Martin,