cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am trying to get the sample program for the x-nucleo-nfc03a1 working and could use some help

MSava.1
Associate II

I am a student and am trying to get the sample program working for the x-nucleo-nfc03a1 working. I am using the Truestudio IDE​ and the board is docked to the stm32-nucleo-401re.

it compiles but when I try to run the sample program it gets stuck failing the initialize the rfal.

any help would be appreciated ​

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Brian TIDAL
ST Employee

​Hi,

STM32F401RE_NUCLEO_PollingTagDetectNdef.bin contains the NDEF demo supporting NDEF read / write for T2T, T3T, T4T and T5T tags. The T2T NDEF formated tag you are using is supported and has been tested. Example of NDEF read of a formated T2T tag:

ISO14443A/NFC-A card found. UID: 04BCE8B2551D80
INITIALIZED NDEF detected.
NDEF Capability Container
 * Magic: E1h Version: 1.0 Size: 6 (48 bytes)
 * readAccess: 00h writeAccess: 00h
 CC Raw Data (length 4)
 [0000] E1 10 06 00             | . . . .         |
NDEF Len: 0, Offset=18
Operation completed

Make sure to have the tag being really NDEF formatted i.e Capability Container present with proper values + NDEF TLV present.

Example:

[003] E1 10 06 00 
      E1          CC0: Magic Number E1h
         10       CC1: version 1.0
            06    CC2: MLEN = 06h (48 bytes)
               00 CC3: readAccess: 00h writeAccess: 00h
[004] 03 00 FE 00
      03          T-field: 03h (NDEF Message TLV)
         00       L-field: 00h No V-Field 
            FE    T-fielf: FEh (Terminator TLV)

You can use some Android applications from the manufacturer of this tag to properly format the tag for NDEF.

Rgds

BT

P.-S. : I believe P2P is not used in your case. Just standard communication with T2T tag.

In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.