cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

QUADSPI + DMA, reading too many bytes?

Chris Rice
Associate III

Hello, so I am trying to write a driver for a GigaDevice GD5F2GQ4xFxxG part, that uses the QUADSPI peripheral. So far so good, but seeing some unexpected results and when I dug into it, I think I observe that a read command is acquiring more bytes than I expect.

Specifically, the code below is called with a parameter count_of_bytes_to_transfer equal to 18, but in the destination array, I think I see that 23 bytes are actually being set... the first 18 correctly, then the next five to random values (possibly unset bytes in the FLASH).

This is my first time using QUADSPI, and I have only utilized DMA a handful of times, so I worked out the code by trial and error. I set *both* the QUADSPI->DLR and DMA->CNDTR registers to the appropriate lengths (N-1 and N, respectively, which is what the ref manual says they want), but wasn't sure I needed to set both, or which one was correct. Anyway, this doesn't explain why I could possibly be clocking out *23* bytes with this code.

Could this have to do with my misunderstanding of the interaction between QUADSPI and DMA? I'm imagining that maybe my FIFO empties out for some reason, after CNDTR and DNR are decremented to zero.

Also, my code determines that the read is complete by looking for the DMA TCIF interrupt, and then disables DMA using DMA1_Channel5->CCR &= ~(1<<0). I patterned this after some sample code I found... it seemed to work fine. But now I've noticed this overrun and I'm reconsidering things.

Anyway, does anyone have a theory as to why I'm reading more bytes than expected, or notice anything I'm doing wrong with my described approach?

Thanks very much for any help, STM32 geniuses.

static void StartTransfer_0xEBReadFromCacheQuad(uint16_t source_column_address, uint8_t * local_target, uint16_t count_of_bytes_to_transfer)
{