cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am having an issue with VCAP pin and dont know how to fix it.

CEagl.1
Associate II

Hi,

This is my first time using an STM32, but not my first time using a MCU, my previous experience all comes from PIC.

To avoid any generic questions being put to me such as "have you checked your wiring" etc, It is worth pointing out that i am a PCB design engineer in my day job. So i am familiar with debugging and finding a cause for failure.

That being said, On this particular board that i have designed, after 2 days of debugging, I am absolutely stumped!!

So, I have a custom board that has on it an STM32F411CCU6TR.

Initially i populated the entire PCB including several peripheral components. A sensor, an RTC and cryptographic security IC.

I powered up the board and checked voltages etc, All good, nice stable VDD at 3.3v

Tried to connect ST LINK....Nothing.

Started debugging and digesting the datasheet. First checks were RESET pins and BOOT0 pin. Both checked out and working. Reset pulled high, boot pulled low. push buttons make them do the opposite.

So im thinking well what else can it be? >> Fast forward hours of googling >>

The VCAP pin!!! This thing is becoming the worst PITA i have ever had in a device.

So i read its supposed to have 1.25v on the pin. Checked it on a meter and the values were all over the place. Checked it on a scope and found it to be pulsing at around 1.5Hz. The scope shows it having a sharp rise up to about 0.6v then a 1.5second drop down to 0.2v ish this just repeats itself. Doesnt look good, right?

This particular IC has no external controls to turn off the internal Vreg so cant have messed that up and it "should" just work. at least that is my understanding of it.

So with the internal regulator seen to be acting strange, i set about looking into what could cause it.....

>>>>>fast forward hours of googling and probing>>>>>