cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Design Resource for development

KGili.2156
Associate

Hi STM32 Community,

I'm new to the STM32 MCU world, I have experience with other MCU's like, TI, Microchip, Cypress.

My main question is:

Where do I find all the necessary information for the development of a project with a typical nucleo board?

I designed a simple PWM test project and had to:

• search in UM1956 STM32 Nucleo-32 boards (MB1180) user manual for the pin mapping
  • search in the STM32L432KC datasheet for a very poor description of the hardware Timers
  • search in UM1884 Description of STM32L4/L4+ HAL and low-layer drivers how to use the hardware without a clear flow chart of init sequence ....
  • search the RM0394 Reference manual to figure out the registers to adjust the PWM duty cycle, As the ST HAL does not provide a simple duty cycle adjust function

Am I missing something? is there a document which combines these as one clear reference manual?

So now I'm confused:

I started the PWM via the ST HAL

MX_TIM15_Init();
  HAL_TIM_PWM_Init(&htim15);
  HAL_TIM_PWM_Start(&htim15, TIM_CHANNEL_2);

The I adjust the duty cycle via the register CCR2:

if( ( htim15.Instance->CCR2 + PWMINC) > PWMPERIOD )
		  htim15.Instance->CCR2 = 0;
else
		  htim15.Instance->CCR2 += PWMINC;

any thoughts ?

3 REPLIES 3

> Am I missing something? is there a document which combines these as one clear reference manual?

You are talking about several different things - the mcu itself, a particular board embedding this mcu, and a particular "library" implementing a selected set of features of the mcu - which I don't quite understand why would be combined into one manual.