cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use ST25R3911B for long reading distance(40cm)

Hzhao.2186
Associate II

Hello,

I am new to NFC solutions and want to design a product that can read tags for 40cm distance with ST25R3911B , could you give me some suggestions ?

And how to adjust the antenna driver output resistance (register 0x27) to match the impedance,also what is the suitable value for the capacitive voltage divider?

Thank you very much for your help.

Best regards

Sky

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Travis Palmer
ST Employee

Hello Sky,

Yes i am confident that this can be achieved. Likely due to the bad coupling between reader antenna and tag antenna additional circuitry (amplifier, filter) might be required.

Internal receiver signals:

You need to connect to P301 (CSO) and P302 (CSI) on the bottom side of the board. There is a footprint for UFL connectors foreseen where a UFL to BNC or SMA cable could be plugged. You can also directly solder a cable to the pads. To capture a good signal, i recommend to remove / cut the traces leading to the capacitive patches (they could pick up some field).

You should then use a high impedance probe to feed the signals into the oscilloscope.

Referring to chapter "1.2.15 Test access" of the datasheet DS11793 - Rev 5:

By setting the registers as described in this section, you can e.g. output the analog signal of the AM channel and see how the digitizer decodes it.

several other combinations are possible as mentioned in Table 13.

Below you can see a Type A response showing:

Yellow: H-Field

Blue: Analog output of AM channel (before digitizer)

Green: Digital output of AM channel (after digitizer)

0690X00000AtNPJQA3.png

The screenshot shows a quite strong signal. After the first sub carrier pulses the AGC reduced the signal to a optimum level.

You can now alter filter and gain settings and instantly see their impact.

Br Travis

View solution in original post