cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Howto: Firmware Version Handling?

Florian Moser
Senior

I'm new at stm32 processors and have a question about firmware handling. At the moment I'm using an uint value for the firmware version and it seems not to be the correct way. So what's the right way for doing this? Is there a register where I can save this value?

My application: I have a PCB with a STM32F030C8TX processor, a lcd and several buttons on it. The PCB is updated by a hardware-engineer very often, so I end up with many firmware-versions for many different PCB's. With a button-combination the firmware gets printed on the lcd.

Is it possible to store the firmware-version somehow in the hex/elf/bin-file too, to be readable by a non software engineer? Maybe STM32CubeProgrammer can also show the version in the log window?

10 REPLIES 10

How did you do it on things prior to the STM32 work?

These are things stored in a string you update. For keeping programing straight people often used a 4-digit hex checksum value that was labeled/stamped on the IC so production placed or programmed the right part.

There are some unused vectors at the beginning of Flash that could be identifiable in .HEX file, or the programmers data view.​

Perhaps reduce firmwares by using more uniform code that can identify what board it is working on. Perhaps with configuration straps or a small EEPROM, or selected via production staff or the software you write for them to use.​

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

I feel your pain, but I don't think there's a ready-made solution for this.

You might want to place the version on a fixed position in FLASH, and then for the non-developers, prepare some simple software tools displaying the number from that fixed position, from the HEX or BIN.