cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I2C on STM32F7 not working: Noob error or broken board?

joba1
Associate II

Hi all,

I recently bought my first drone flight controller based on STM32F722RET6 with I2C barometer.

The barometer is not working and the chip becomes quite hot (>70°C), although firmware settings are ok. So I started some error checking while waiting for the replacement.

Since I am completely new in the STM32 world, I'd like to have a confirmation that what I did makes some sense and the board is indeed broken (since it is very likely I did an error somewhere...). So here is what I did:

• Connected GND and debug pads K and D of the flight controller to a Nucleo64's STLink CN4 connector.
  • Removed jumpers CN2 to cut off the Nucleo STM32F401 chip from its STLink.
  • Installed STM32IDE with CubeMx and configured a project reflecting the flight controllers chip and pin usage, e.g. I2C1 SDA/SCL is PB7/PB6 and led is PA15
  • Did a blink example with a blink counter -> onboard led blinks and live changes of the counter in the IDE. So debug setup seems to basically work.
  • Did an I2C example to check ready state of all I2C devices on the bus to generate traffic on SCL/SDA and sniffed it with a logic analyzer -> flat lines :(
  • Configured I2C3 (PA8/PC9) instead of I2C1 which also had pads I could connect to -> the logic analyzer sees a pulsed signal on SDA but nothing on SCL
  • Configured all 4 pins as normal GPIOs and toggled them on and off along with the blinking led -> SCL1 and SDA3 produced pulses on the logic analyzer. SDA1 and SCL3 remained flat.

The whole project can be seen on github: https://github.com/joba-1/jhemcu-base with one branch for each of the three test (not master), including the CubeMX edited ioc file and main.c with my few code additions.