cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32CubeIDE not including library files correctly

ADP1114
Associate II

I am very new to STM32CubeIDE as I am switching from Keil to Cube. I included a library for an lcd and added the path of the library. The IDE does not recognize any functions defined in the library as I get the error "undefined reference to " function.

No error or warning is given at the "#include" for my header file within my code.

Am I missing a step when adding a library?

Is there a tutorial that would explain how to add such a library for this IDE?

edit:

I managed to successfully add a library for HX711 load cell amplifier. The library can be found here:

https://github.com/freakone/HX711

After including the header file of the library, I copied the c-file to the project folder. That seemed to be all that had to be done (it was also successful with the lcd library).

Unfortunately my issue isn't completely resolved.

I am also working with VL53L0X distance sensors which is dependent on ST's API that they have developed for it. The VL53L0X has a lot of headers and c files that needs to be referenced to. I tried only copying the header and c files included in my main, but that still gives the "undefined reference to" error.

I right clicked on the project folder and went to properties. Under C/C++ Build I went to settings and the tool settings. In tool settings under MCU G++ Linker/Libraries I added the paths to the directories.

When I have finished adding the directories I "apply and close" then clean my project and the build it. I then get the error "cannot find -l" next to my added path.

The path I provide starts in my C drive (C:/). I don't know whether that has an influence?

Maybe CubeIDE only searches within its current directory?

Thanks to anyone who helps (and even reads) with my question.

18 REPLIES 18
ADP1114
Associate II