cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Saving data in QSPI Flash | STM32F469i-DISCO

MFOWE
Associate II

Hello,

I'm a total beginner and I'm looking to store some user data in the QSPI Flash,, but I don't really know how to proceed can you help me ?

First, I changed the flash memory size in the .ld file from 16M to 12M so that TouchGFX won't overwrite my data. But from now, I don't know what to do...

How can I write and read to this 'allocated' space ?

Thanks

15 REPLIES 15

Maybe start with reading the QSPI chapter in the 'F469's Reference Manual, and also reading the DS of the QSPI FLASH chip.

JW

Martin KJELDSEN
Chief III

Hi @MFOWE​,

As an example, if you're working with the STM32F469i-DISCO board you'll have the following BSP file that can help you interact with the QSPI: bsp\include\vendor\STM32469I-Discovery\stm32469i_discovery_qspi.h - It defines the methods:

uint8_t BSP_QSPI_Write(uint8_t* pData, uint32_t WriteAddr, uint32_t Size)

HAL_StatusTypeDef HAL_QSPI_MemoryMapped(QSPI_HandleTypeDef *hqspi, QSPI_CommandTypeDef *cmd, QSPI_MemoryMappedTypeDef *cfg)

Use BSP_QSPI_Write to write to a specific address and HAL_QSPI_MemoryMapped to take the QSPI in and out of memory mapped mode.

/Martin

https://www.st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/application_note/group0/b0/7e/46/a8/5e/c1/48/01/DM00227538/files/DM00227538.pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.DM00227538.pdf

In memory mapped mode it accesses like normal memory, ie pointers / structures, etc.

In the linker script you could split it into two or more distinct regions, and then direct code/data to those sections via attribute directives or #pragma

You could also leave it as one region, and let the linker deal with the placement and interleaving with other data.

The QSPI is written using an External Loader (tailored to board/chip) via ST-LINK Utilities or STM32 Cube Programmer, or equivalent in your chosen tool-chain.