Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems debugging from STM32CubeIDE and Linux Debian

MHof
Associate II

Hello developers,

I am a beginner in STM32 programming.

I have the board STM32L152C-Discovery, the ST-Link V2 adapter and Linux Debian on my laptop installed.

I am using STM32CubeIDE as IDE.

I setup my first project in STM32CubeIDE with the automated code generation and added my own code for toggling LED 4, which is being connected to Pin 7 of the CPU.

I can build and compile the project, but not debug it. Following error comes:

Open On-Chip Debugger 0.10.0+dev-00021-g524e8c8 (2019-06-12-13:05)

Licensed under GNU GPL v2

For bug reports, read

http://openocd.org/doc/doxygen/bugs.html

none separate

Info : The selected transport took over low-level target control. The results might differ compared to plain JTAG/SWD

adapter speed: 8000 kHz

adapter_nsrst_delay: 100

Info : Listening on port 6666 for tcl connections

Info : Listening on port 4444 for telnet connections

Info : clock speed 1800 kHz

Error: init mode failed (unable to connect to the target)

in procedure 'init'

in procedure 'ocd_bouncer'

I am using the OCD debugger.

What can be wrong? Did I maybe have connected the wiring from ST-LINK-V2-adapter to the SWD pins of the board in a wrong way?

I also removed the jumper bridge from CN3 as described for debugging an external application. Did I forget something? Or do I have to change a solder bridge (if so, this would be stupid, because I do not have a soldering iron).

I have pictures of the wiring attached.

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Sincerely,

Marco

8 REPLIES 8

Ok, you've got that entirely backward. The headers on the discovery board are for output. Why can't you just use the on-board ST-LINK?