cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to download firmware/bootloader to custom boards with STM32F479NIH6 and debug?

Kosta1
Associate II

TL:DR; New to firmware development. Inherited codebase for new revision of product. Sole firmware developer. Cannot step through code. Seeking advice.

---------------------

So I am fairly new to firmware development in a new company where I inherited this codebase that is to be used for a new product. Previously, TrueStudio 9.x.y was used for the previous generation product last year.

I am the sole firmware developer in a small company. I had 2 weeks with the previous firmware engineer before they left. They did their best to transfer as much knowledge as possible, but not everything could be covered in that time-frame. My background is Cypress FX3 firmware development and kernel device drivers.

The codebase seems to have bootloader and application code mixed together. First, is this a common practice, as I see these as separate functions. The bootloader, per my understanding, is to configure the STM32 to load and run the application.

I build the application and bootloader, and when I attempt to download/debug the bootloader with a breakpoint set immediately in main,

TrueStudio 9.3.0 with an ST-Link v2 is used to connect to the custom board. I am building a debug/non-optimized code, which I download via the ST-LinkV2. The Console window output I receive starts with the below, with the crash (?) shown afterwards.

So the question I have is, of which settings do I need to be most careful? Is there something obvious I am missing due to my lack of expertise? Given that the environment is for a shipped product that did work, should I still stick with TrueStudio, or make the change to STM32CubeIDE (I did play around to it, but saw that the conversion of the project to that new IDE is nontrivial).

And is there a way to pay for support from ST, now that TrueStudio Pro is no longer available?