cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ST Visual Programmer - setting the PC register before 'RAM Exec'

Hi,

There is an option of executing the code in RAM through the option 'RAM Exec' in ST Visual Programmer. I tested this feature and it looks like the code is starting from address 0.

I wonder if I can change this and set different starting address.

-----

I studied the UM0470 document where the SWIM protocol is described and see::

After a DM break, the CPU is stalled (through the EMU_Stall signal). While the CPU is stalled, the SWIM can read/write any memory location or any memory mapped register. The program can be continued from the breakpoint, by resetting the stall bit.If a change of PC is needed, the SWIM must write the new PC value using the method described in Section3.7: CPU register access on page16. In order to fetch the code from the new PC address, the SWIM must set the FLUSH bit in the DM control/status register 2 (DM_CSR2) (refer to Section4.12.10 on page 33) before resetting the STALL bit.

---

So is there any way to set the PC in advance in ST Visual Programmer? Or maybe there are some rules how the PC is set. Need to test with different memory map than regular 'start from address 0' approach.

6 REPLIES 6

Found something about fixed address in the release notes:

'Added RAM execution feature in ISP programming mode for all ST72Cxxx devices.

There is a restriction on ram mapping, the program to execute in ram must start at address 0x90 and must not exceed address 0x17F'.

I cannot confirm this - my programs start from 0.

Still looking for any documents covering this topic - hoping that someone from ST team can share this information.

When you look into the ST Programmer log you see that the address used for PC is always 0:

Execute a file in RAM: Begin

Execute a file in RAM: Reading file C:\Users\abg015\Desktop\STM8\DEV\cosmic-test\test1.hex

Execute a file in RAM: Checking hardware and device