cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to start on 32-bit chips?

henry.dick
Senior II

Hi, there:

I have been a professional embedded programmer - mostly 8051 and 8-bit PICs. Things have not been going well professionally and personally there so I am looking to expand into the growing market of 32-bit chips. However, I found those chips to be much more complex than the 8051s and PICs I have been familiar with.

I wonder if you could share some tips on how you started on those super complex chips.

Thanks in advance.

8 REPLIES 8

I'm getting deja-vu https://community.st.com/s/question/0D50X00009XkaLCSAZ/where-to-start-on-stm32

Ok so in the six years there what things have we looked at?

Are they actually that complicated, or do they just duplicate peripheral instances multiple times, and do math much more efficiently?

You're perhaps not going to want to remember the bits in every register, in every part. Understand the mechanics not the minutia. Know where to find the material you want, not memorize the material. Find an author whose perspective closely matches your own, read books from multiple authors, understand their perspectives, and triangulate. Identify the areas and materials you have specific difficulty with.

Programming in Assembler? I learned ARM assembler within the context of 6502, Z80 and 68K assembler.

Are you trying to do complex things? People are expecting embedded systems to do more complex things. Process more data, deal with faster signals, handle screens and user interfaces.

What type of systems have you been building in recent years?

What have people been expecting you to be able to do?

What languages are you good at programming in?

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

That's a vicious circle. You cannot learn stuff without doing few projects. You don't get projects without knowing the stuff.

-- pa