cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USART bare metal programming fail to send data - STM32L4R5ZI

KHuyn
Associate II

I am new to embedded programming and trying to learn ARM with my STM32L4 board. I stick to the datasheet and stay away from HAL library to learn how the MCU and its peripherals work. Here I am trying to initiate USART3 and send a line using "printf" but fail to receive anydata from my FTDI chip. Did I miss something here?

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdint.h>
#include "kfunction.h"
#include "kstm32l4r5xx.h"
/*--Define--------------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
/*--Global-Variable---------------------------------------------------------------------- */
/*--Function Prototypes-------------------------------------------------------------------*/
void initUSART3(void);
void initRCC(void);
void blinkBLUE(void);
void initPORT(void);
int putchar(int);
/*--Main----------------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
int main()
{
  initRCC(); 
  initPORT();
  initUSART3();
  while(1)
  {
    blinkBLUE();
    printf("this is USART3");
    putchar(12);
  }
} // EO Main

/*--Function------------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
/************************************************/
/*             Name: initUSART3                 */
/*-Initiating USART3 for STM32L4R5xx            */
/*-Oversampling 8 (OVER8=default/0)             */
/*-Baudrate: 9600-USARTDIV=4Mhz/9600=0x1A0(416) */
/*                                              */
void initUSART3(void)
{
  USART3_BRR |= 0x1A0U;  //select baudrate for USART3=9600    <---edit baudrate first
  USART3_CR1 |= 0x9U;  // enable USART3 - Transmit Enable        <---enable USART after that
}
/*             Name: initRCC                    */
/*-Initiating RCC for STM32L4R5xx               */
/*-MCU run on MSI clock 4Mhz(reset value)       */
/*-Open Clock Gate for USART3                   */