cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bxCAN - hold program while message will be sent corrertly

DKarc
Associate II

Hi,

I'm new to STM's. I'm writing program using bxCAN by HAL Layer. I had a problem with sending messages in time interval.

For example I would like to send two messages in every 100ms, but when I'm doing it messages are missing, so I would like to hold the program while message will be sent correctly.

I'm doing it in this way:

for(;;)if(HAL_CAN_AddTxMessage(&hcan, &TxHeader, msg, &MAILBOX) == HAL_OK)break;

It doesn't work, checking the transmit ok flag also doesn't work. Pooling while transmit mailboxes will be freed also doesn't work:

for(;;)if((HAL_CAN_GetTxMailboxesFreeLevel(&hcan)) == 3)break;

Maybe somebody can help, me with solving this problem.

BR, Daniel

5 REPLIES 5
Jack Peacock_2
Senior III

Based on your problem description messages are not arriving at the receiver. Stalling the transmit program won't help in this case. Do you mean none of your messages arrive at the receiver node? Have you checked the filtering on the receiver side? You may be blocking your messages.

The ideal solution would be to queue both messages in transmit mailboxes so they will be sent as soon as the bus is available. If this isn't working you'll need to explain why, since it suggests you are not sending messages at all. You might check the error registers to see if you are even connected to the CAN bus. If the transmit flag isn't working you definitely have either a configuration problem of a hardware problem with your CAN bus. Do you have termination resistors on the bus?

Jack Peacock

Hi Jack,

thanks for your interest.