cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32H747I-DISCO First Steps

EE
Associate II

Hello,

I am really new to the STM32 und TouchGFX World. So I bought a board STM32H747I-DISCO, the first thing I saw: not supported in STM32CubeIDE :(

I generated a new Project with TouchGFX, I selected the Application Template (16 Bit) with a Blank UI. I placed a Button With Labelk in the left upper corner:

- Generate Code: "Code generation complete"

- Run Target: "An error occured during flash. Please make sure you have the right target connected."

I used the STM32 ST-LINK Utility and downloaded the File "...\My Application\TouchGFX\build\bin\initflash.hex" - the result can be considered in the appendix :(0690X000009Z23dQAC.jpg

I am sad.

11 REPLIES 11
hansd56
Senior II

0690X000009Z297QAC.jpgHi, welcome to STM32. Dual core processors are not yet implemented in STM32CubeIDE. It will come but nobody knows when. I have got a STM32745i-Disco board and I have successfully downloaded a test screen from TochGFX designer. To develop code for both cores you have to use System Worbench (see picture TouchGFX CM7, CM4 blinking led) .

For the STM32H747 I have created a TouchGFX designer project (attached). Try downloading the target.elf file. Building code from command line 'TouchGFX 4.10.0 Environment'. Change folder to TouchGFX and run 'make -f ../gcc/Makefile -j8' and 'make -f ../gcc/Makefile -j8 clean'.

Give yourself some time to understand and learn and experiment. Most examples don't run out of the box.

Hi @EE​,

try flashing the file called target.hex, it also contains the graphical assets, these are stored in the external QUADSPI flash on the board.

When you flash "intflash.hex" only the the application code is flash to the board.

Also, for STM32H7 MCUs please use STM32CubeProgrammer for flashing since it will continue to support the H7 line.

/Anders

EE
Associate II