cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32L4R9I-DISCO USB Virtual COM Port - "Unknown Device" Issues

DerekR
Senior

PCB Silkscreen: MB1311C (No revision number visible)

IDE: Keil uVision 5.16a

FW: STM32Cube_FW_L4_V1.14.0

STM32CubeMX Version: 5.3.0

PC OS: WIndows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

ST VCP Driver Version: 1.5.0

I am experiencing two issues related to this error. If I need to create separate posts for each, please let me know and I apologize in advance. I am new to this processor so bear with me. Let me preface by saying that I have been able to successfully get the VCP functionality working on my devkit, but I am still experiencing intermittent issues.

Issue A. USB low-power must be enabled for USB to work. Why is this? Is this an error with STM32CubeMX?

Steps to reproduce:

1. Open STM32CubeMX and create a project by selecting the STM32L4R9I-DISCO board.
  2. It will ask you to initialize all peripherals to default. Select "Yes".
  3. Under Pinout & Configuration -> Connectivity -> USB_OTG_FS, set the mode to Device Only. DO NOT enable "Low power" in the "Parameter Settings" tab.
  4. Under Pinout & Configuration -> Middleware -> USB_DEVICE, set "Class For FS IP" to "Communications Device Class (Virtual Port Com)".
  5. Click the "Project Manager" tab, configure the project with a stack and heap size of 0x1000 for MDK-ARM V5.
  6. Generate the code, build and run the project.
  7. Plug in the USB cable and wait. You receive "Unknown Device"
  8. Now repeat steps 1-6, and be sure to ENABLE "Low power" mode in step 3.
  9. Plug in the USB cable. Device is immediately recognized as a virtual COM port device.

After comparing the two projects created in the above steps, I see the following key differences:

I. The "Low power" project sets up the USB interrupt (below), whereas the non-low-power variant doesn't in usbd_conf.c.

/* Peripheral interrupt init */
    HAL_NVIC_SetPriority(OTG_FS_IRQn, 0, 0);