cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to enter debug mode

Jvan.19
Associate

I'm new to ST32 series, I bought a NUCLEO-L476RG and a B-L475E-IOT01A to get started. When I plug in either of these boards, it installs itself as a ST-Dongle and ST-Virtual COM port. When I execute my code it flashes the board, it starts my code but the Console states this:

Waiting for debugger connection...

Debugger connected

-------------------------------------------------------------------

STM32CubeProgrammer v2.1.0          

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Log output file:  C:\Users\Jan\AppData\Local\Temp\STM32CubeProgrammer_a01432.log

Error: No debug probe detected.

Encountered Error when opening C:\ST\STM32CubeIDE_1.0.0\STM32CubeIDE\plugins\com.st.stm32cube.ide.mcu.externaltools.cubeprogrammer.win32_1.0.0.201904021149\tools\bin\STM32_Programmer_CLI.exe

Error in STM32CubeProgrammer

Any breakpoint I set is skipped, I can only pause the program and continue again. Any pointers to what I do wrong? I was expecting it to stop at the main function allowing me to step through the code step by step.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Thanks for the support. The problem was caused by a bad USB port, when the HUB was replaced it works fine.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Markus GIRDLAND
ST Employee

Do you have CubeProgrammer stand alone? If so, do you experience a problem with it?

If you look in C:\ST\STM32CubeIDE_1.0.0\STM32CubeIDE\plugins\com.st.stm32cube.ide.mcu.externaltools.cubeprogrammer.win32_1.0.0.201904021149\tools\bin\STM32_Programmer_CLI.exe directory, is the CLI.exe placed there?

Thanks for the support. The problem was caused by a bad USB port, when the HUB was replaced it works fine.

Piono
Associate II