cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Driving 24 Bit RGB Display With STM32F750. RGB565 or RGB666?

MHenz
Associate II

Hello,

I am new to TouchGFX and I am very impressed with not only your technology, but with how responsive this forum is. I have watched a number of tutorials on TouchGFX. I have an STM32F7508-DK development board and I have been able to successfully generate interesting user interfaces.

My question relates to porting TouchGFX to a 144 pin version of the STM32F750. I am designing a custom board with this chip. I have a very cost sensitive application and cannot use the BGA package. As a result . . . by the time I assign the FMC controller and the Quad SPI, I am only able to use the LTDC in either RGB565 mode or RGB666 mode. 16 bit color depth is fine with me, but I am forced to use a display with RGB888 interface format.

So . . . my questions are:

1. Do I simply tie the lower order bits (R0, R1, B0, B1, G0, G1) on the display to GND?
  2. Should I use RGB565 or RGB666 mode?
  3. The ability to have transparent background bitmaps is very important in my application.
  4. Will there be any color banding in the transparent images if I tie the lower order bits to GND?

Thank you for your help.

All the best,

Max

9 REPLIES 9
T J
Lead

Colour banding, you will see the bands as colour slightly changes usually only obvious in photo images.

if you are displaying graphic blocks, where individual shapes contain one colour,

RGB565 and RGB666 will display just the same, there will be no banding.

use RGB565, its faster to process(dma), but not as many colours, obviously lacking in a photo image.

if RGB666 is not good enough the difference in cost for a 176/208 pin is not huge in volume

tying R0 R1 etc to gnd on the LCD connector will dim every pixel a little, tie them high for a slightly brighter image where black is a little grey.