cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running STM32F407 Program on STM32F429 .

Tauqir  Hassan
Associate III

I am new to ARM cortex programming .Following is my program , code is generated using stm32cubemx (board : stm32f407vgtx) and then shifted to Eclipse.

I was wondering , If this program will successfully load and run on stm32F429ZITX.

If there are any changes to be made what are they ? (changes regarding RAM size and clock config etc & any other changes in "STM32F407VGTX.LD" file . )

Thanks!0690X000008AUp7QAG.png0690X000008AUp2QAG.png

6 REPLIES 6
Zaher
Senior II

Well, basically the binaries are compatible across the same family of devices and I did that myself for many of my projects. However, you have to take into account the following constraints:

1- Core Clock

The STM32F429xx can be clocked at up to 180 Mhz, while the maximum for the STM32F407xx is 168 Mhz, so first thing to do is to modify your clock settings accordingly.

2- Pins, peripherals that are only available on one of these devices

From the attached screenshot, it appears all of the pins/peripherals you have used in your project are available on both devices, so I suppose no problem here.

3- Hardware constraints

Make sure your STM32F429xx project doesn't use a hardware that is only available on one board but not the other. For example, if you are using the external SRAM mounted on the STM32F429-Disco board as a frame-buffer for LCD project or the like, then you will have to modify your source code to use a buffer declared in the internal SRAM.

I hope that helps.

Zaher

Thanks for the Quick Response !

I don't have any hardware constraints so looks like that I only have to configure the core clock . Kindly confirm that whether I have to make these clock related changes only in the "STM32F407VGTx_FLASH.ld" file or any other file too ?

Imen.D
ST Employee

Hello,