cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to program STM32F407VET6 boards?

Andrew Crawford
Associate II

Hey everyone, I am new to STM hardware and software... Recently got a development board from a third party that's based around the aforementioned microcontroller. From what I gather you can start building on STM projects from STM32CubeMX, however I could not find the board in their board selector (as it is a third party) and im unsure how programming the board would differ from programming the bare MCU if I would simply select to use the MCU itself.

Can I proceed to program the board just by telling the software the model of the MCU, or is there a way to install an additional software package that has the board information (and is this available)? Thanks!

22 REPLIES 22

You could inquire if you random board vendor has template or project file.

Otherwise pick the chip, and start inputting the pins you plan to use by referring to the schematic for the board.

You don't even need to use CubeMX, there are HAL example applications under the repository trees, which you could port to your board. Perhaps start with something simple that toggles a GPIO

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Andrew Crawford
Associate II

Ah, thank you! If the template/project file isn't otherwise available I can go that route​ and program it myself, however I bought it too long ago to contact the supplier and these boards seem fairly common, would hate to go through all the work if it were out there elsewhere in an easier format. Sorry, should have specified what board I was using as well, but here is an attached image if anyone knows.

Hi,

Here is a schematic for your board .

Hope it helps you to start programming.

S.Ma
Principal