cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canbus Filter Matching Index

e-zeki
Associate III

Hi,

I'm fairly new to arm platform. I'm trying to communicate between 2 MCU via Canbus.

with the latest HAL Library I set up 4 filters (2 for each fifo) id mask type , 32Bit.

I am receiving my messages from correct fifos. what I cant get is filter matching index.

If I set all my filters to FIFO0 then I get 2x Filter Bank Number(ex: Filter bank number = 4 / Matching index = 😎

But if I set the filters to FIFO1 then I get 0 no matter I do.

I read the refference manual for filtering but I couldn't find any detailed explanation for it

any help on this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@e-zeki​ I should have mentioned I'm using F7 Cube. I assume the F4 example code is the same because it is the same bxCAN peripheral. Not sure if you fixed your problem yet but I discovered that the latest example code does not handle FIFO1 interrupts, only FIFO0 interrupts (see main.h).

#define CANx_RX_IRQHandler            CAN1_RX0_IRQHandler

which calls:

HAL_CAN_IRQHandler(&CanHandle);

which "handles" all interrupts by checking IER. That's not right.

But at least there's more useful code to extract now.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

Seem to recall @Community member​ and I having a unhelpful discussion with ST about this issue some years back.

I don't think you can pull the FIFO out of order, so it would be just as efficient to pull the message number once you get the data in a buffer, and dispatch via a singular vector/jump table

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

So if I understand you correctly, this feature has issues by itself.