cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[Solved ]TrueStudio does not create an .elf file.

GTull
Associate II

Hi

I started learning Stm32 and got a problem: when compiling a project, TrueStudio does not create an .elf file.

Console log:

12:26:17 **** Incremental Build of configuration Debug for project STM32100B-EVAL_GPIO_IOToggle ****

Info: Internal Builder is used for build

arm-atollic-eabi-gcc -c ..\Libraries\STM32F10x_StdPeriph_Driver\src\stm32f10x_flash.c -mthumb -mcpu=cortex-m3 -std=gnu11 -DUSE_STM32100B_EVAL -DSTM32F10X_MD_VL -DUSE_STDPERIPH_DRIVER -I../src -I../Libraries/STM32F10x_StdPeriph_Driver/inc -I../Libraries/CMSIS/Device/ST/STM32F10x/Include -I../Libraries/CMSIS/Include -I../Utilities/STM32_EVAL/Common -I../Utilities/STM32_EVAL/STM32100B_EVAL -O0 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -g -fstack-usage -Wall -specs=nano.specs -o Libraries\STM32F10x_StdPeriph_Driver\src\stm32f10x_flash.o

12:26:21 Build Finished (took 3s.875ms)

There are no errors in the “Problems�? window.

I tried several projects including downloaded from the TrueStudio repository. The result is the same. I used TrueStudio 8.0 and 9.3 with "out-of-box" settings.

What can I do?

7 REPLIES 7
MEder
Associate III

I had a problem with no elf file for a release build and I used the following:

​This was gleamed from a touchGFX project that a ST employee posted. 

Create a bat file with...

arm-atollic-eabi-objcopy --remove-section=ExtFlashSection %1.elf intflash.elf

arm-atollic-eabi-objcopy -O binary intflash.elf intflash.bin

arm-atollic-eabi-objcopy -O binary --only-section=ExtFlashSection %1.elf extflash.bin

Then add the bat file to your build configuration (release)

Add the directory/file name of the hex file  to the command line. Then when you build the release, the elf file is created.

It will create the intflash and extflash elf file for programming.

If you don't need the extflash section then you can ignore it.

Good luck