cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring capacitance STM32F103 using HAL_Library

RSabl
Associate II

Hi, i'm trying to measure capacitance using a single GPIO pin ( found an article online a guy used this method to calculate the diode reverse current so i'm guessing its possible to measure capacity aswell). Firstly i use the pin as output and charge the capacitor, now i'd like to set the pin to input and measure the time it passes for the capacitor to discharge via the pin. (untill the input becomes 0). The issue is that i cannot change GPIO pin direction dynamicly using HAL , i know that using the standard lib i need to adjust the value of MODER register, but i'd like to do it using HAL if its possible? What should be the procedure. I'm a really newbie regarding ARM architecture or electronics in general, so this question may sound a bit dumb :).

4 REPLIES 4
S.Ma
Principal

Simple tricks have hidden challenges. Is this for a single setup or larger produced devices?

The pin itself has its own capacitance in pF (datasheet) with tolerances.

So actually, you'll be measuring 2 caps in parallel.

If you use another N/C gpio, you could differentiate and maybe discriminate the external cal.

The time you will measure will need fine resolution, so speed is of the essence.

Using HAL may not give the precise predictive timings needed.

Now detection of the low level when discharge will need the low level to be precise.

The datasheet may not provide precise value unless you measure it for a particular part at particular voltage and temperature (called PVT parameters).

So yes, you will have to manually play with GPIO HW registers, and trigger an EXTI interrupt to capture the timestamps start/stop.

Some STM32 have touch by capacitive switching method. Maybe it's a way to run the measurement, although it may require extra pins.

Using ADC and halving the charges between ADC sample and hold cap with external's maybe another way...

RSabl