cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please help a confused soul

luch
Associate III

Hello everybody!

I've been watching/reading this forum for a while now, trying to enlighten myself, but without success. So, this is my first question...

While not being new to electronics, microcontrollers and programming, I am new to ARM. I've spent the last (more than) two weeks reading hundreds of pages (reference&technical manuals, etc.), forums, blogs, tutorials, you name it! At the end of all this, I thought I understood something... but it looks like the more I read, the more overwhelmed and confused I am... Anyways, I tried to apply my new and hard gained knowledge by writing some simple programs.

But how?! The some chaotic (to me) mountain of information about these micros, reigns in the software domain too. There is a myriad of IDEs and command line tools to choose from, then HAL/LL/Standard Library, etc. I've tried quite a few of them (Keil uVision, Eclipse, Cube[F1|MX]) without great reasonable results.

What I am trying to achieve is some intimate knowledge of the peripherals of these amazing micros and a set of software tools that would allow me to write decent programs for them. It would be great if the software would be able to simulate the programs, so I can run them step by step and... observe and learn!

I've purchased already a few boards (STM32F1 Value line discovery, STM32L476 Nucleo-64 and a couple of BluePills w. STM32F103C8T6), a Logic Analizer, a scope, etc. In other words, I'm ready! Only my mind refuses to participate!