cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configuring Nucleo-F767ZI as a server to send commands (Ethernet & LwIP)

t888
Associate II

Hello community,

I have configured the Nucleo-F767ZI LwiP (no RTOS) and Ethernet through CubeMx. I have also setup the echo_server configuration on the board. I can successfully ping and send a receive back messages from the board (using python on another machine) with an assigned IP and port number.

Since I have configured the board to operate as a server, I want to send commands (such as strings if possible from the python end) and toggle LEDs on the board for example.

I am new to TCP/IP protocol and I would gladly appreciate any input and resource.

My project will utilize ethernet communication as a primary protocol. I will not use HTTP server.

Thank you,

Michael T.

5 REPLIES 5
Lead

You could use the TCP and the generic socket interface, and implement your own protocol. There are plenty of example source codes available, no need for MCU/STM32 specifics. Just remember that the "Lw" stands for light weight, i.e. LwIP does not implement the full IP stack.

Or, you can check out an existing protocol that seems appropriate for your use case. Modbus TCP or home automation protocols (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_automation_protocols) come to my mind.

Thanks for the response. So this means I won't be able to modify the server code to allow commands from by backend to instruct commands on the board?

My overall goal is to stream video through the Ethernet.

Thank you

Piranha
Chief II