cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read/write HTS221 over SPI1

Admir1
Associate II

Hello I am brand new to STM32F0xx chip set. I have on board HTS221 and need to read temperature and humidity over 3 wire SPI interface. Can anybody point me in the right direction. Maybe there is an example code on how to setup SPI1 for half duplex so I can read and write to HTS221 registers correctly. I tried implementing the SPI on my own but have some strange timing issues. please see attached image and the source code

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Admir1
Associate II

Hello,

Thank yo for the proposal on using I2C bus on different pins.

Since My hardware is already done, and the sensor was mapped to SPI pins, I had no choice but to use the 3-wire SPI interface. I wrote a bare metal SPI_config() SPI_read() and SPI_write().

The switching TX/RX direction timing is critical, and it turns out I had other fast Interrupt messing up my SPI timing. Now, my SPI is working fine.

Thank you for your time and help.

Admir

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
S.Ma
Principal

Are you really sure to use SPI to read humidity and temperature?

Humidity typically is a sensor with 10-20 seconds response time, hence I2C is more than suitable.

You can even generate I2C from GPIO with SW bit banging.

Otherwise, if really SPI is needed, SPI typically is enabled by NSS = 0 (when high, the I2C bus is used)

By default, the sensor uses SPI in 3 Wire mode. beware.

Admir1
Associate II

Hello,