Associate III

I am trying that :

sprintf((char*)buffer,"%d\r",HAL_ADC_GetValue(&hadc));

CDC_Transmit_FS(buffer,8);

but the speed is only 3 or 4kS/s

Someone has something better ?

53 REPLIES 53

Have a larger buffer(s), and leave in binary. ie uint16_t buffer[32];

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
julien12657
Associate III

with HAL_ADC_GetValue(&hadc)) and CDC_Transmit_FS(), I can't not transmit in binary

Do you have an example with HAL librairy ?

Bob S
Principal

What makes you think you cannot transmit binary data? I do this all the time (on an STMF407 using the older SPL (pre-Cube) library. Disclaimer: while a reasonable person would expect the same ability in the Cube libraries, I have no direct experience using USB CDC with the Cube libraries. The only issue I can see with binary data is if you have "text" mode somehow enabled and a driver is translating "newline/linefeed" (0x0a) into CR/LF (0x0d 0x0a).

julien12657
Associate III

should I transform HAL_ADC_GetValue(&hadc)) in binary ?

Bob S
Principal

HAL_ADC_GetValue() already *IS* binary. It returns a 32-bit value, of which only the 12 LSBs are significant (depending on which CPU you are using and whether you treat the A/D data as unsigned or signed, or for that matter left-justified or right justified). As @Community member​ said, fill a buffer with values from the ADC, then send that buffer.

S.Ma
Principal

The CDC class as Full Speed device probably has a maximum average bit rate. I think the host (PC) will poll the MCU each 1 msec (if the descriptor is correctly configured) with a max packet (64 bytes every 1 msec? = 64kbps).

As such, you should create an ADC SW FIFO to pack the 16 bit data. If you want to keep ASCII codes, you could simply use HEXA coding (4 bytes per value + space separator) so you can log and import as CSV file into excel for debugging. Use binary once all looks fine.