cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F407VG DCMI - Ethernet - External Memory

EMutt
Associate II

Hello. I am a student participating in a project.

I have to take 1080x720 px at least 15 fps video feed and forward it (along some other sensor data) through ethernet connection. Is this possible ?

My other question is;

How can I store that data on a external memory unit and later send it with ethernet interface ?

( When the image size is small the data can directly be stored on sram with dma but my image(s) are 1-1.5 mb in size so this is the reason why i think i need an external memory unit . But if there is a way to send the image data (without capturing the whole frame first) from ethernet interface that would be okay but i researched for 2 weeks and i do not think it is possible.)

thanks in advance

6 REPLIES 6

The DMA has transfer length limitations, so you'd need to manage the update of two buffers, or move the data.

1920x1080@15Hz 14-bit would be 31MSps, so drinking from a firehose there.

Ethernet is what 100Mbps (12.5MBps)

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

I miswrote it is not actually 1080p it is 1080x720 px. I did not understand what you meant by two buffers , can you explain it in more detail please ? Do you mean some sort of external memory when you said "move the data" ? And do you thin what i am trying to do is possible ? I am not very experienced i am junior university student if some of my question are stupid i am sorry.

Ok, so review the answers within the context of the functionality described in the Reference Manual for the part.

The DMA transfer count is 16-bit wide, limiting the number of transfer units.