cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low latency (<1 ms) data transfer from stm32f446re to PC using USB

AHadi
Associate II

Hi ST Community,

I am very new to programming STM32 MCUs. I am using a stm32f446re MCU to read 6 ADCs through SPI interface. I would like to send the ADCs' data (12x24 bits) through the built in USB in STM32 MCU to a PC at 1500 samples/s. I searched a lot and found the USB concept very confusing. I mainly do not know which USB class I have to use (HDI, CDC, Audio, etc.)? an how it should be configured.

I appreciate if someone can show the big picture on where I should start from or some example codes/useful links.

Thanks for the help in advance.

6 REPLIES 6
Danish1
Lead II

I don't think you will be able to transfer things by USB with such low latency (i.e. low overall delay).

But what you can do is collect a group of samples into a buffer, and send them all up together. This way the average throughput will be sufficient for your needs even though the latency will be longer than 1 ms.

You get to choose the size of the group - most efficient if you can fill or nearly-fill a standard USB buffer.

Hope this helps,

Danish

Bob S
Principal

What @Danish​  said. As a USB "device", you have almost no control over when the data is actually sent to the PC. The USB "host" controls/initiates all data transfers. Now, presuming that your software running on the PC is always trying to read data from your device, whatever you write to your USB buffers will be sent in the next millisecond interval (presuming 12MHz USB 1.1 compatible interface, for the higher speed interface you get sub-millisecond intervals). Your aggregate throughput to the PC will match you ADC sample rate, but the timing of any individual sample getting to the PC is indeterminate.

AHadi
Associate II

Thanks @Danish​  and @Bob S​  for your comments.