cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hal delay stuck in infinite loop Systick

Nacluk
Associate

Hello,

I am a newbie and I have started trying to learn how to program the MCU STM32F746ZG. I have created a simple code following a learning book that uses the STM32CubeMX software. The code is a simple "Hello World" that causes LED2 to flash every 500ms. The inserted code is very simple and is the following:

/* Infinite loop */

/* USER CODE BEGIN WHILE */

while (1)

{

/* USER CODE END WHILE */

/* USER CODE BEGIN 3 */

HAL_GPIO_TogglePin(LD2_GPIO_Port, LD2_Pin);

HAL_Delay(500);

}

/* USER CODE END 3 */

}

I have only added these two lines, the rest of the code has been generated by STM32CubeMX. When it is exported automatically to MDK-Keil v5, I make the program build and 0 errors and 0 warnings appear, apparently everything is ok. When through ST-Link I flash the MCU everything is ok too. But I notice that nothing happens ...

Looking through the debug option of MDK-Keil and although I do not understand much how it works debug making step by step I observed that it gets stuck in the Systick function, creating an infinite loop.

As I have seen by Google it seems that the code exported by STM32CubeMX causes the call to Systick interrupt to be executed from within another interruption and that due to priority systick problems it can not preempt other interrupts that have the same priority as it.

I tried to change priorities through STM32CubeMX, then I put a screenshot where it is observed as in theory Systick has higher priority than the rest but still nothing works.

0690X000006CDVMQA4.jpg

I have seen more than 100 responses to this problem where we talk about Systick priority problems with respect to other interruptions and how Systick works as a system clock if it does not have priority over the rest of the program remains stopped.