cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Board support package for STM3240G-EVAL board.

MRana
Associate II

Hi,

I am using Keil V5.26.2.0. Although I have installed DFP for my particular MCU, from where I may get bsp for my board. Please be gentle guys, I am pretty new to the world of MCUs.

Cheers and a happy day

Tahir

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Lead

A BSP, board support package, is a collection of firmware (sources, link libs) specifically for a board (controller/MCU + peripheral support chips).

It usually serves as a HAL (hardware abstraction layer) for implementing an OS.

DFP is a Keil-specific thing. A kind of basic headers and sources for a MCU family.

I think you will want either the STM3240G firmware package or CubeMX on top of the DFP.

I'm not a Keil uVision user, though.

BTW, they have a good support forum as well.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Lead

The term "BSP" is less in use here, it is more common in relation to support "real OSs" like Linux.

Anyway, there used to be a firmware package for this EVAL boards, based on ST's (now deprecated) Standard Peripheral Library, with lots of example projects. And as I remember, the Keil toolchain is directly supported.

Or you can download the hot, buggy and disk space squandering CubeMX package.

A search for the specific board on ST's site should bring up links to the according downloads.

MRana
Associate II

@Community member​  thank you sir for reply.

I am pretty new to MCUs(compulsion of my job), so please pardon me for my illiteracy.

So I don't need bsp for this board while using Keil? I am following a course, and that course uses some other microcontroller board. From that course I am under the impression that bsps and DFP are must for getting started.

Please elaborate a little, if possible.

Cheers

Tahir

Lead