cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using SWIM and STM8S to send hex file to 24c64wp

MFarl
Associate II

Hi all. 

I am a complete newbie with regard to the world of the STM8 and the programming of it so there are very high odds that I will completely use the wrong terminology in order to express what I think I know and also what I am working to acheive... but I gotta start somewhere so here goes... 🙂

First off.. circuit architecture and what is in place...

I am using an audio power amp that is used in speaker cabinets and it has a DSP chip in it (Analog Devices ADAU1701) I have been using this chip and programming it for years now but the manufacturer of the amp changed everything and now I am unable to write it to load my own programming.

The previous version of the amp had a direct connection via I2C to the ADAU1701 and it's self-boot e2prom and I was able to program it easily.

With this new version the amp's manufacturer wanted to provide more functionality by installing their own front end to tweak the amp. It is a feature limited version of what I need. They are still using an ADAU1701 and it's e2prom (a 24c64WP) and if I only can use their software then these amps are not usable by me at all unless something else can be figured out.

With this new version, they are using an STM8S105 to do their programming (via SWIM) and then with their programming they are generating the needed hex file to send to the 24c64wp. The ADAU1701 will then self-boot on power up from the 24c64wp.

I have already purchased an ST-LINK so getting to the STM8 shouldn't be an issue... There is a SWIM interface molex on the back of the amp and I have the pinout for that already.

So, my questions are: 

Can I use STVD via SWIM to program the STM8 to send my own hex file to the 24c64wp via the I2C pins on the STM8?

Is there another utility program that will allow this type of operation?