cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I configure an I2S on interface on the 32F746GDISCOVERY Board

MMett
Associate III

Hi, I'm new to the ST microcontroller, and I'm learning how to use it. I am working with the 32F746GDISCOVERY board and want to operate an S2S interface via the Arduino-IOs on the board.

From the data sheets I can see that I should be able to use the I2S2 resource for this:

• I2S2_SD on the ST pin PB15 (R15), evaluation board CN7 pin 4 (D11)
  • I2S2_CK on the ST pin PI1 (D14), evaluation board CN7 pin 6 (D13)
  • I2S2_WS on the ST pin PB4 (A9). Eval board CN4 pin 4 (D3)

I also found an example (STM32Cube_FW_FW7_V1.12.0) that configures an I2S interface:

File: I2S/I2S_DataExchangeInterrupt/Src/main.c ->This example describes how to configure I2S using the STM32F7xx HAL API.

If I do this now analogous to this example, it does not work.

My first question: Where can I find more detailed documentation on the HAL drivers?

My second question: As I have understood this, the I2S2 resource can be assigned to different IOs. How is this configured?

17 REPLIES 17
  1. UM1905 (I'm not going to comment)
  2. Look into DS, there's a table where pins are assigned to various functions, the column is the "number" of function. Now look into the GPIO chapter of the RM, this "column number" goes into the AFRL/AFRH for the respective port/pin (while MODER for that pin is set to AF). I don't Cube so won't help with the particular incantation.

JW

MMett
Associate III

OK, need some hours to understand a part of your answer, but so far an example for my Clock on PI1:

1. Datatsheet In the Table 12. STM32F745xx and STM32F746xx alternate function mapping (continued): I see that I have to map PI1-Pin to AF5 (for I2S2_CK)
  2. So the "number"of function is 5