cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does anyone actually use the register names to program?

aerospacengineer
Associate II
Posted on September 20, 2013 at 03:12

That may seem like a bit of a pretentious question, but it is not intended to be so.  I am new to STM32 products, coming from PIC and dsPIC devices.  There are some changes that I am wrapping my head around, though nothing too bad. 

I have noticed that there is a tendency to not use the actual register names to set a value, but to use the structs and the defines in the header files to accomplish the programming.  This is not bad per say, though I really dislike digging through header files as documentation.  I like to be able to use a datasheet/addendum to have all the registers and then setting a value in that register.

Perhaps I am just missing something.  I would really love to hear some thoughts on this.  Perhaps there is other documentation that I am missing.  Thanks again.  I am looking forward to getting beyond the blinking lights and really using this device for something useful.

Adam
15 REPLIES 15
Posted on September 20, 2013 at 08:55

> I have noticed that there is a tendency to not use the actual register names to set a value,

> but to use the structs and the defines in the header files to accomplish the programming. 

It's not *that* bad (more below). What *is* bad is, that most of the folks appear to use the ''standard peripheral library''. They then hide the actual registers behind macros and function calls, and use macros (with no system in naming) to redefine names of register fields. In my personal, heavily biased opinion, it is absolutely useless to harmful at times. However, what *is* useful are the examples contained therein and referring to it, so at the end of the day one needs to get used to it, even if in read-only mode...

> This is not bad per say, though I really dislike digging through header files as documentation.