Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding STM32F4 FSMC

edgar
Associate II
Posted on July 30, 2013 at 10:15

Hello, 

I am new to STM32F4 and I have been digging into documentation for the lasts two weeks.

My application uses a 320x240 LCD display and is managed through the FSMC bus. If I have understood correctly the FSMC manages four banks of memory and each one is divided in four memory regions. 

I am only interested in Bank1, which is the NOR/PSRAM memory, but I have some questions.

1. What do NE1, NE2, NE3 and NE4 signals do? Do they select the Bank or do they select the region of memory (from 0x60000000 to 0x6FFFFFFF) once a Bank has been selected. In that case, how can I select a Bank? 
  2. How are these signals (NEx) managed? Do I have to worry about them or the FMSC manages them internally?
  3. The FSMC bus has 26 bits for the address, but the reference manual says that bits 25 and 26 of the address select the one of the four memory regions of Bank1. How can these bits be controlled?

As you can see I am pretty lost. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance, 

Edgar.

#stm32 #fsmc
3 REPLIES 3
Posted on July 30, 2013 at 12:57

In traditional processor boards, you would have an address decoder of 1-of-N type  (think of 74xx138 for example), which inputs is connected to the higher-most address bits, and outputs go to chip selects of connected memories. In this particular case, there is a cascade: one decoder which sets its output active when address bits 31..28 = 0110 (0x6), which is an ''enable'' input to other 1-of-4 decoder with inputs tied to address bits 27..26 and producing the four NEx outputs. In other words, if you read/write anywhere from/to 0x60000000-0x63FFFFFF, NE1 gets (automatically) active; if you read/write from/to 0x640000000-0x67FFFFFF, NE2 gets active; etc.