cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DMA and Concurrency Concepts

craig
Associate II
Posted on August 22, 2013 at 18:12

I'm new to ARM and have been doing a lot of work/research on DMA on the STM32F4 Discovery board.  I have multiple DMA streams working correctly for SPI to an OLED and some LED controllers but I have a fundamental question I can't seem to locate the answer to anywhere.  My background is in x86 development (including multi-threading) but in higher level languages and I can't figure out how much of my experience applies to ARM and DMA.

For example, I have a byte array containing a ''video frame'' of data for my LED controllers in RAM (think an application like an LED video wall).  I start the stream and it begins sending the data to the LED controllers.  If I were to immediately start rendering the next frame and manipulate the data that's in the same array while DMA is still transferring and accessing it what happens?  Do I need to implement my own locking mechanism to prevent modifying the data until the DMA transfer complete interrupt fires?  Should I implement double-buffering to DMA transfer from one buffer while manipulating a second?  Is it safe as far as the chip is concerned to modify the data if I don't care that it might send data from a previous frame mixed with data with a currently rendering frame?  (I think this would effectively result in a visual ''tearing'' effect in my example case.)

I really feel like I need a really firm grasp of this concept so I can effectively use all of the extra MCU cycles freed up by using DMA without stepping on DMA's toes or wasting RAM.  I'll happily read a document on the subject if anyone has such a resource but I've just been unable to locate much information on the topic.  Any help is appreciated!
4 REPLIES 4
Posted on August 22, 2013 at 19:03

Well it's like chasing the raster as it paints the screen, if you get ahead of yourself it's going to be visible.