cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sdio sd card write speed problem

jimmjimmshen
Associate III
Posted on August 30, 2013 at 03:17

hi guys i'm new to stm32, i got a problem that i used sdio and fatfs to test maximum speed of write sd card, its only around 330kb/s but when i try to use sd card reader its up to 2mb/s, so i want to figure out why its so different between them and how can i fix it?

(i tried two ways of test: first use f_write function write 10k data once, second separate 10k data into 64byte package to send, result looks similar )

i use dma mode 4bits bus

#sdio-fatfs
11 REPLIES 11
Posted on August 30, 2013 at 05:40

Yes that would appear quite slow, but I know nothing about your board, clocks, software or cards.

Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
jimmjimmshen
Associate III
Posted on August 30, 2013 at 08:06

sorry , there is my test program and my card is sandisk 4gb card

Attachments :

Test_progarm.rar : https://st--c.eu10.content.force.com/sfc/dist/version/download/?oid=00Db0000000YtG6&ids=0680X000006I10O&d=%2Fa%2F0X0000000bgn%2F6wDYUzl3NIenKfG5TCqKnub2XVTadVucz.vyPigbzAQ&asPdf=false
Posted on August 30, 2013 at 11:17

What board? Is the card a MicroSD? What class?

Not much experience here with the STM32F103VE and SDIO.

Looks to be running the card at 24 MHz, confirm.

You could perhaps run it at 36 MHz, or 48 MHz if you run the processor at 48 MHz and use BYPASS mode.

Code won't support cards >4GB

Some bugs in USART output code
Tips, buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
alexandr
Associate II
Posted on August 31, 2013 at 22:44

Hello,

According to my experience, SD-card write speed is very depends of how the card was formatted.

On order of increasing the write (and read) speed:

- PC format disk under Windows

- using FatFs command mkfs