Associate II
Posted on January 13, 2010 at 10:10

TFT LCD from STM32F10E-EVAL

5 REPLIES 5
p_
Associate II
Posted on May 17, 2011 at 13:37

Hi,

i am using the STM3210E-EVAL Board. And i am running the demo software for the TFT Display right now.

Now i have a few questions about that TFT and FSMC stuff because im new to it.

First. Can i use the same TFT with an STM32F103VC controller? This µC has FSMC but only Bank 1 and 2 are available. And there are two pins missing (FSMC_NE4 and A0 which are at the STM32F103ZE). The STM32F103VC doesnt have this Pins. Can i use alternate pins or do i allways need a 144pin µC (STM32F103ZE e.g.) for this TFT?

Second. Is there a way to use the TFT LCD without the FSMC of the µC? Just running it with the standart input/output pins. And if yes, are there any demo programms how to drive the TFT without FSMC?

Thanks.

jj
Associate II

We have driven a very similar (but not that exact model) TFT with one of ST's ''minimal'' 64 pin STM32F103. These smaller, lower cost MCUs do not include any FSMC.

General rule - if you comply with the TFT's signal & timing spec you will be ok - screen doesn't care re: source/creation of data.

Software approach ''is'' effected. With FSMC (like past data+address bus CPUs) a ''single'' MCU instruction can transact (read/write) with the screen. Without FSMC a multi-instruction sequence is required and proper set-up/hold times must - at all times - be observed.