Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Small LCD using SPI with a STM32F4

vinnie
Associate II
Posted on October 20, 2013 at 04:11

Hi all,

I'm at my wit's end with this little project I'm working on. I'm new to MCUs and had a few ideas on small projects that I would like to make. I've been following a guide on the STM32 and modifying bits and pieces to get it working with my particular board (STM32F4Discovery). As part of every project I would like to utilize an LCD for status output so that's where I've started to learn all things MCU. I bought a tiny LCD screen... a ''Mini 1.8'' Serial SPI TFT LCD Module Display with PCB Adapter ST7735B IC'' to be exact but I can't for the life of me understand how to get it working. I started by first learning SPI with a simple loopback setup and watched the results on my Open Bench Logic Analyzer. It was straight forward and worked without too much pain. I then applied that knowledge to getting the LCD working and I've got myself in a tangle.

Here's some observations I've made:

•  My logic analyzer has crapped itself.... it no longer works. It gets pretty hot and doesn't capture any signals.. 50% of the time it just locks up and I need to reboot my machine before it releases the COM port. I'm essentially dead in the water without it. I can no longer verify I have setup clocks correctly or if my chip select is actually working. Without knowing everything has been setup correctly I can't really begin to debug my LCD and the commands I send it. Is there an alternative to this or do I just bin it and buy something better?<br/>