cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F3 new project.

arganasss
Associate II
Posted on December 11, 2013 at 14:33

Hello everyone. I'm new to programming, just got this stm32f3 board. I tried to run TIM_PWM_Input example ant it seems to work just fine. That's what i want to do now - measure external signal frequency. However, when i created new project, and copied absolutely everything from TIM_PWM_Input example, with all libs and directories, the code doesn't work. When i connect external signal and run the code, it jumps to HardFault_handler. So i want to ask is there a way to fix it and why it happens? i mean i just coppied example project and it doesn't work. Will appreciate any help. Thanks in advance.

24 REPLIES 24
arganasss
Associate II
Posted on December 11, 2013 at 15:15

I also did some research about HardFault_handler and did stack ussage analysis : „Warning[Lo008]: [stack usage analysis] at least one function appears to be uncalled. Example: ''BusFault_Handler''. A complete list of uncalled functions is in the map file. “ I know where the map file is and how to open it, but i can't find and explanation how to read it. I mean what information can i get from that file?

frankmeyer9
Associate II
Posted on December 11, 2013 at 15:39

„Warning[Lo008]: [stack usage analysis] at least one function appears to be uncalled. Example: ''BusFault_Handler''.

Not sure if the helps in this regard.

Async event handlers like interrupt/fault/exception handler are generally not ''called'' per se, and require a meta-knowledge of the MCU for a proper automatic analysis.

But indeed, your stack might be too small, and cause spurious crashes at runtime. One often tends to forget those project setting items when cloning a project.

Have you tried to single-step with a debugger, and locate the position of the crash ?