Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F103xE Input read max speed

arko2600
Associate
Posted on January 30, 2014 at 20:46

Hello,

I'm trying to sample the PB0 pin on the STM32F103RET6, the mcu is configured to 72MHz. I have an obscure 3.34Mhz clock/data signal I'm trying to capture. I was wondering what the maximum sample rate of the digital input is. I seem to be getting many misreads.

#stm32
7 REPLIES 7
Posted on January 30, 2014 at 21:14

I'd imagine 8-9 MHz should be achievable.

For maximum sampling consider if you can use DMA, certainly do-able on the F4's

If you have the clock, or can generate one, consider slave mode SPI for single bit stream, or DCMI for 14-bit?
Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Posted on January 30, 2014 at 22:48

Using timer capture to catch the edges, storing the timestamps using DMA?

If you can tell the nature of the signal to be captured, better ideas might come up maybe...

JW

charlie2
Associate II
Posted on January 30, 2014 at 23:36

(working together)

the signal is coming from a spartan 2 fpga, with a clock from a 13.56Mhz xtal, then divided down.

the frame pulse (Start of message) is about 411khz

the clock is a 3.34Mhz 

and then 8 bits of data clocked in.

this is the clock and data.

http://i.imgur.com/rTzGbDr.png

(having issues with the media uploader)

if we set a leading edge interrupt on the frame and toggle another gpio, it is rock solid and the signal matche

if we turn off interrupts and sit in a loop reading the pin and doing the same toggle, it misses about 30% of the time

we're using the stm32 lib, but  i changed it to a simple loop that just inlines GPIO_ReadInputDataBit to the one IDR.

if in the interrupt, we wait for the falling edge of clock, and the read data, it again misses..

DMA was our next thought. Currently reading over the datasheets/examples to set this up.

Posted on January 31, 2014 at 00:45