Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F302 DMA to GPIO

daniel2
Associate II
Posted on July 09, 2015 at 22:17

Hi All,

I'm trying to drive some WS2812 LEDs which require a (400ns high + 800ns low) or (800ns high + 400ns low) signal to indicate a 1 or a 0.

So esentially I'm trying to take an array of data and output it directly to a GPIO at about 2.5MHz. I've never used the DMA before but from what I understand it should be able to ouput data straight from memory to a GPIO.

How should I try to accomplish this using the DMA, or are there any better ways of outputting data on a GPIO at a consistent clock?
8 REPLIES 8
Posted on July 10, 2015 at 02:41

I've demonstrated TIM driven DMA to/from GPIO in several STM32 families. Suggest you review those. Refer to the Reference Manual to understand the association between TIM triggers and DMA channels.

For 2.5 MHz, you're going to have to run the processor at some integer multiple of that frequency for the TIM dividers to function.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
daniel2
Associate II
Posted on July 10, 2015 at 17:45

Hi Clive,

That sounds like it would be useful to me- do you have these demonstrations available somewhere?

From further reading it seems like the best thing for me to do would be to do DMA transfers from RAM to the GPIO ODR. If I want to move 8 bits from RAM into the ODR for outputs PinA0 - PinA7, and use circular mode with a double buffer how should I configure the data sizes?

I was thinking the memoryDataSize should be HalfWord while PeripheralDataSize would be byte, but in some examples I've seen the opposite.

Posted on July 10, 2015 at 18:25

do you have these demonstrations available somewhere?

I post everything here, use the site search, or Google.

I'd probably look at doing a 32-bit write to GPIOx->BSRR

I'd look to update pattern buffers in a ping-pong fashion using DMA HT/TC interrupts.