Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F40/ DSP PERFORMANCE

ASSAAD.ASSAAD
Associate II
Posted on February 25, 2014 at 12:11

Hi ; 

We produce madical instruments ; our main products depends on stm32f407 and we are happy with it ;

Now are designing a new product that needs many DSP filters ( FIR + IIR ) ; the sampling rate would be about 2000sps  and 8 channels ; so I would know if the stm32f407 dsp performance would be enough to perform such calculation IIR + FIR  each may be 50 order ? OR should I move to DPS from TI rather than DSC?

Any help here would be great and helpful ;

Thank you inadvanced

Regards

ASSAAD
3 REPLIES 3
chen
Associate II
Posted on February 25, 2014 at 12:56

Hi

''perform such calculation IIR + FIR  each may be 50 order ''

I am no filter expert but I do not think the filter 'order' makes any difference when doing filtering in software. It is just applying a different set of protortionals and constants.

''that needs many DSP filters ( FIR + IIR ) ; the sampling rate would be about 2000sps  and 8 channels so I would know if the stm32f407 dsp performance would be enough to perform such calculation''

Set up the code to do 1 calculations and measure how long that takes. This will give you an indication of the time it takes to do 1 sample and filter calculation. This will tell you whether the processor can do what you need and still have head room for other functions.

From what you have described - it does sound like you should go to a DSP but let the experiment guide your decision!

frankmeyer9
Associate II
Posted on February 25, 2014 at 13:23

I think that depends much on your requirements.

A 2kHz sample rate for 8 channels is not so much, the filtering requirements sound more challenging. It might be worth to get a board and do a more detailled evaluation.

There is a DSP_Lib available for all STM32 MCUs, containing routines and example applications for signal processing and controlling.